Eight elite clubs to grace Kobe stage


The 2017 FIVB Volleyball Women's Club World Championship follows on from the 2016 edition in Manila, the Philippines.

Kobe, Japan, May 3, 2017 – A total of eight elite club teams from around the world will compete at the FIVB Volleyball Women’s Club World Championship from May 9 to 14 in the city of Kobe in Japan.

The continental club championship winners from Asia, Europe and South America have been awarded a spot in the Club World Championship; together with host club Hisamitsu Springs of Kobe.

Hisamitsu Springs’ rival club, Kawasaki-based NEC Red Rockets topped Bayi Shenzhen of China in straight sets (25-23, 25-19, 25-21) in the 2016 Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship in Binan, Philippines, to qualify to the annual world event. 

VakifBank Istanbul of Turkey makes a back-to-back appearance at the Club World Championship after they swept Italy’s Imoco Volley Conegliano 3-0 (25-19, 25-13, 25-23) in the European Women’s Championship final in Treviso, Italy.

Rexona-SESC Rio won its third consecutive South American Women’s Club Championship title to earn the Club World Championship berth, following their 3-1 triumph over country rivals Dentil/Praia Clube.

Quick links - Volleyball:

Volei Nestle Osasco are another Brazilian squad that made it through the tough field this year as a wild card entry. The Sao Paulo-based club recently challenged South American club champions Rexona in an epic five-set clash, where the latter prevailed 3-2 (25-19, 22-25, 25-22, 18-25, 15-6) in the Brazilian Superliga.

Three European clubs – Eczacibasi VitrA Istanbul, Volero Zurich and Dinamo Moscow - complete the eight-team roster also as wild card entries.

Defending champions Eczacibasi Istanbul of Turkey have kept their status as one of the best clubs in the world, with a star-studded starting unit that consistently positions them in the final four of domestic and continental club competitions.

Volero Zurich of Switzerland are consistent in the top four in the last five editions of the Women's Club World Championship, including a bronze medal in the 2015 edition; while consecutive Russian Superleague champions and CEV Champions League finalists Dinamo Moscow will make their debut in the competition. 


All the News